New Year’s Goals, Me at 23

It feels like yesterday that I was just in my senior year of high school boasting, “one-oh, you know!” Well, as 2015 approaches I will go into my 5th year since I graduated high school. Matt & I have been dating for 2 years, I am more than half a year out of college, I am just over 3 months into my dream job, and I am overall blown away by how fast time flies.

Need a time check? Check out this article from Buzzfeed highlighting movies that came out in 2005 . . . 10 years ago.

Anyways, with the “new year, new you” vibes upon us, below are some reasonable goals I have at 23.

  • 10653623_10152403508831364_2311056666935051417_nFind more reasons to get dressed up. Like, more effort than putting on pants. Sparkly dress, bright lipstick, heels, the works.

  • Take advantage of coupons. Groupon, Livingsocial, etc. are always posting amazing deals that I find myself scrolling through endlessly but never committing to. 60% off a sushi making class? Why not?

  • Cook new dishes that are really, really delicious. I’ve found myself saying, “I can’t cook” – but have actually surprised myself. I suppose cooking & baking at minimum take the ability to read + patience. I saved this article from SELF and plan to make all of these fall soups in 2015 — every season is soup season to me!

  • 10712608_10152390521096364_6018113645798026704_oAllow things to work out. It is a work in progress for me to not stress out over the little things, and I believe I’ve written this before, but Matt always tells me that everything always works out. If not how you planned, then how it’s supposed to be.

  • Travel! Matt & I would LOVE to travel across Europe, Asia, etc. but are starting small with exploring America the beautiful. Top city priorities include New Orleans (nawlins), and San Francisco. Also Portland, Oregon thanks to Portlandia. Keep it Weird.

I love who I am, and I don’t want a “new me.” In 2015, I simply want to learn new things, explore new places, and try new foods (obviously). I will continue to add amazing people to my life, and keep close with those who have been in it for awhile. I will continue to call my family regularly and say thank you to those who build me up.

Thanks for being so great, 2014! I reflected on 2014/Being 22 here: What ’22’ Felt Like.

Happy New Year to all :),
Danielle

Leave a Reply

