Small Wins

Every month (actually, every day) is a new adventure when you’re 23 and adjusting to a new city + state. I am officially in my first holiday season outside of Florida, and I can certainly feel the difference . . . all I need to do is step outside *grabs big black coat.*

While I tend to look at the “big picture”, I have had many small wins this past month. Below are some that just make me seem so “twenty-something” . . . which I proudly am.

  • Holidays: Halloween + Thanksgiving

IMG_0103Cady Heron identified Halloween as the one time of year where a girl can dress like a total slut and nobody can say anything about it. I took it has the one time of year where you can convince your boyfriend to dress up like a 90s Nickelodeon character. However, I plan on finding excuses for us to wear these outfits multiple times.

For Thanksgiving, I was welcomed to Matt’s grandparent’s house in Long Island, since a trip to Florida was $700+. It was so lovely, and after a nice at-home Thanksgiving dinner, we enjoyed other meals at the Golden Reef Diner, where David met Carolee, and cue the music: “everybody knows their names.” Seriously. I highly recommend their waffles, omelets, gelato, B&W cookies, everything . . .

  • Food: Taking “dorm food” to a whole new level.

I am a very serious #foodie. I also recently got invited to be a featured foodie on the new My Fab 5 food-ranking app, so you know I’ve made it. Below are a few good eats I explored this month, inspired by my dorm favorites! My true friends know to never touch food that we order until I get the perfect picture.

IMG_0267Groceries: I forever miss Publix, but in Boston Trader Joe’s is definitely where it’s at. If you’re looking for gourmet dishes that only require a microwave (aren’t we all?), get their Risotto or the 4-cheese Farfalle. Feel free to reach out if you need more Trader Joe’s recommendations . . . I have plenty to share.

#creationaday: Just look at that hashtag on Instagram, but have some Chobani on hand before you do. Chobani is the best, and after going to the Chobani Bar in SoHo last month, I decided to make my own! Just grab some yogurt + your favorite nuts & fruit. I also always encourage Cookie Butter and/or Nutella.

ramenRAMEN: Matt’s Aunt introduced us to the magical world of Ramen this weekend. Forget the 12-pack you can buy for a $1 and splurge on some real ramen. We hit up the famous Ippudo – after waiting in a line out the door just to put our name in and wait another 45 minutes (there is a bar conveniently inside and next door to pass time.) Whatever city you are in – get on Yelp, and get on this bandwagon.

  • Entertainment: Must-sees.

I know how hard it is to spend $10-$15 on a movie when they all come on RedBox for $1 eventually, but there are some really, really good movies that are worth seeing now. I recently enjoyed Mockingjay Part 1, Interstellar, and Theory of Everything. Next on the list are Hobbit & Into the Woods! You win this time, movie industry.

IMG_0463Lastly, seeing the new off-Broadway comedy, Sex Tips for Straight Women from a Gay Man, really topped off this month. I got discount tickets through work and I am so glad I heard about it! This is as hysterical as the title suggests, and very interactive (be prepared if you sit within the first five rows.) Matt and I were laughing the whole time – and may never look at a juicer the same way again. I’ll leave it up to your imagination, and I encourage you to see it if you’re in New York!

 

 

I can’t believe tomorrow is December already. I’m excited to head home to Florida for two weeks and get some rest & relaxation! Bring it on, winter!

Leave a Reply

