Moving On Up – Literally

Today is my last full day as a Floridian. Tomorrow I will be a Bostonian.

IMG_7359With today being my last day, I am reflecting on how thankful I am for everything – especially these past three months. I have had one of the best summers ever and I spent it at home! Working at the summer camp I grew up at was the best decision I could have made. It was the ultimate mental detox from being such an involved student, and it is an amazing experience to spend time with friends you have basically known your whole life.

Seriously though – major shout out to my Next Stop Broadway family. They give me so much life and this summer had me laughing every day because they just get it. From needing to use a “phone bucket” to peel my 12/13-year-old campers off their phones to Wednesday dress up days, I loved every minute of it. P.S. to all reading – I got “Best Counselor of the Year” with fellow rockstar Daniel Kies which really was the icing on the cake! I have so much love for all of you.

IMG_7498Also, I really missed my family, so these three months were highly cherished. Now, I’m about to embark on a journey that will make me miss them even more. Moving to Boston is not easy, but somehow at this moment I have all my suitcases (only 2.5 . . . ) packed and three boxes ready to be shipped. I am looking forward to this next step in my life, and I am filled with so many emotions.

Boston will be amazing, I will have my wonderful boyfriend by my side as he begins grad school at Northeastern, one of my best friends Becca as a neighbor, and I will be rooming with a fellow AOII alumna! PLUS, my co-workers are all so fabulous and I can’t wait to contribute to the glory that is Her Campus.

To my loving family who I know is reading this: Thank you from every bit of my heart. You put up with me this summer, helped me prepare for this move, and taught me so much (as you always have). Thank you for being you. There are no words to describe how thankful I am. I had a wonderful family BBQ to say farewell, and passed down my Barbies and American Girl, which was a clear sign of “growing up.”

BFF Since Pre-KThis summer reminded me to cherish lifelong friends. My friends and sisters from college are amazing, but there is nothing like lifelong friends who just get you. Friends who remember your AOL Hometown Page and away messages, and who wrote in your Hello Kitty Friends File. I have so many amazing friends in my life that I can talk to once every five months yet we never grow apart. You all know who you are!

I can’t say it enough – I have so many emotions right now. I am nervous, excited, proud, determined, scared, and so ready all at the same time. I’m coming for you Boston with my fancy new haircut (but I will miss Publix dearly).

All my love from Florida,

Danielle

One thought on “Moving On Up – Literally

Leave a Reply

