My Thankful Post

ImageAll throughout the month, I have seen a pleasantly overwhelming amount of gratitude from those around me. I love the holiday season and no matter how or what you celebrate, we can all be thankful.

… By the way, me and my Jewish people can actually begin our seasonal celebration without forgetting Thanksgiving, since they are on the same day. Hanukkah + Thanksgiving. Happy Thanksgivingukkah, I am thankful for latkes.

Here are things that I am thankful for. This is really for my personal reflection, but I hope you read and it sparks you to be thankful for similar people and opportunities in your life.

IMG_2349

1. Family first
Family always has to come first. My family should know that while I am a busy bee in college, I think about them constantly. I should call more, and I wish I could go home more. I am so thankful to have a healthy family and a family that has always supported me to be the best version of myself. My parents especially are so hardworking and determined to watch my sister and I succeed. I can only hope to be half as amazing as they are. Love you mom, dad and Jackie! . . . and Toby and Charlie and Bailey.

2. Those who have stuck with me 

I have such amazing friends, and many of them who have committed to being my friend for years! Many have them have watched me change for the better, from brunette to blonde and all in between. I thank you all and even if we do not talk or hang out as much as we used to, I love you! I have been a sister of a wonderful sorority, Alpha Omicron Pi, since Fall 2010 and I can not believe that I will be an alumna in May. Each position has helped me grow in to the leader I am confident that I am, and I thank all of you for being there every step of the way. . . .

PLUGGED BACK IN: How the heck could I post this without my write up of my awesome boyfriend? For almost a year now (1 year on Jan. 11) this boy has really shown me what I deserve. He puts up with my stress and crazy personality! We have had such amazing memories and I look forward to so much more. Overall I am thankful to have someone I truly love and who is also my best friend. And we are both Jewish but wear matching Christmas sweaters.

IMG_3340

3. My PR passion
Remember that time I started college thinking I was going to be a news anchor? Staying within Mass Communications, I am so thankful that I stuck to PR. I love all the possibilities. Thankful to have interned at a top PR agency in NYC this past summer. GolinHarris, you rule!

4. The Green & Gold

USF is the perfect university for me. A top research university, USF is out of the ordinary. Recently, USF raised $621,378,543 in the USF:Unstoppable campaign for scholarships and other university advancements . . . and then raised that goal to $1 Billion. I am a part of USF Ambassadors, a loving family who shares the spirit of USF. We are such a diverse group of leaders with a variety of talent and history. I have learned how important it is to be involved with your community, and give back to as many organizations I can. I am also a part of Her Campus USF!

5. Being healthy, being alive. 

Right now you should be thankful because you are to be able to read this sentence. Life is short and fragile and we can not take anything for granted, and I know that is cliché and repeated a lot, but it is true. Recently, two beautiful girls who graduated high school with me had their lives taken away in a fatal car accident. The cause of the crash was a wrong-way driver who hit them head on. The support from all in my hometown is beautiful, and I give all my love and strength to those affected. I know that Coral Springs will always have my heart, and they will serve as angels watching over all of us. I’ve witnessed the heartbreak in the news and my Facebook feed alike, and I want all of you to know that I am listening and sending my strength. You can read updates on the story here. This year, let us all take an extra step to look out for each other and to especially stop reckless and under the influence driving. There are countless articles out there you can find with this story. This recent one illustrates a hero who tried to prevent the accident. RIP Marisa and Kaitlyn.

Click here to donate to Kaitlyn Ferrante’s Fund
Click here to donate to Marisa Catronio’s Fund / Marisa’s Way.

I hope you tell someone you are thankful for them today! And maybe every day.
Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

