Life is like a truck of ice cream

But really for me, it is. And a bunch of other awesome things!

I can believe that I have been in NYC for over a month now. I say this because I know how to take the subway (okay,  just the E and the 6, but HopStop is my best friend). Actually I say this because New York is so busy and crazy and full of adventures that it is easy to believe that time is flying by so fast.

Here are three things that I, a 21-year-old digital intern, have learned in this ice cream truck-esque life.

1. You will embrace variety 

We may all very well have our one favorite flavor we always choose. But, this world is so much better when we go above and beyond and try the new. I have had multiple experiences to play in the world of PR and communications – from a past internship, fraternal positions, etc. I used to be a stickler for the PR plan – the monthly list of how my organization will succeed 365. Image

If you’re into the digital world of PR, you understand that your plans are constantly thriving and expanding! I am so amazed with all that goes in to social. From content  development months ahead (one of my many learnings I will be bringing back), social media monitoring to the best of all- ENGAGEMENT!
Remember, Simon Sinek says that people don’t buy in to what you do they buy in to WHY you do it – and we do things because we care about our consumers, like reminding them that they are beautiful with glasses! As I scroll through the brands of my clients, and also the competitors, I truly see the value in every consumer comment and how much of an impact the social world has. If there is anything I have learned so far about PR and communications it is that appreciating diversity is key.I love my internship because I get to dive in to a variety of demographics. If you are in an internship or organizational position where you do not feel like you are embraced with variety, make a change! But, feel free to embrace your classic go-to choices as well.

For me, that choice is Campbell’s soup. Image

2. You will travel. 

Image

Can you spot me in background? My hair is a clue.

I stumbled upon a graphic once that said, “traveling is the only thing you spend money on that makes you richer.” Or something along those lines, probably more eloquent than that, but it is so true. Even traveling to the next door over in your office, university or neighbor hood is a travel to me.

I have been a VERY lucky intern. I mentioned briefly in a past post that I got to travel to Boston. In Boston I assisted with the media launch for Good Humor’s Share the Love Summer Tour, where we had past pitcher for the Red Sox, Pedro Martinez help “share the love” and hand out ice cream to his fans and beyond! This trip was a fantastic learning experience for me, and I got to head out to multiple media outlets to give them ice cream.
In New York I continued the campaign with more media drop-offs. Also, here in New York I actually get excited when I get to do intern runs. But really if you need any thermal/ freezer bags of any size in this city, I know where you can find them.

Image

Every person time I say “Hi, I’m Danielle!” to someone new, it is so rewarding, even if that person never remembers it.
For one of my local travels, I got to be a helping hand for our client VTech at a media event titled, the Holiday Gift Guide Show, at the Marriot Marquis. I know so much about VTech phones and became passionate about relaying that information to every media that walked by – from beauty bloggers to CNN to NY Daily News. P.S. They make a video door bell so you can see who is ringing the door by receiving a photo to your house phone. – GENIUS. I WANT ONE.

3. You. will. melt. 

Image
But don’t let that stop you. I mean this in two ways. I have had my days here where I am loaded with tasks upon tasks, with monitoring and reporting and researching, but there is no need for a meltdown, just loving those PR storms!
For legitimate heat, you think I would be immune to heat and humidity being from Florida, but that is not the case. However, I am a pro at learning to embrace the sun and getting out there! I am very tempted to fry an egg on the concrete some days, and also tempted to just blast my AC and stay in bed, but no.
I’ve gotten to see some amazing places that soak up the sun and we soak up each other’s awesomeness (obligatory mean girls quotes may vary in my posts). Image For one example, I escaped my own burrow and headed to Williamsburg, Brooklyn to see the ABSOLUT Open Canvas event – the streets turned in to an array of artwork that was highly appreciated and inspiring. My roommates and I then ventured off to the Smorgasburg Flee, which is every weekend! I managed to get a candy crunch center Good Humor (client) bar too, which I devoured prior to melting.
I love you New York, rain or shine. . . . and P.S. it is  always raining in the Museum of Modern Art RAIN ROOM! 5.5 hour wait is a common occurrence, but the 30 minute wait for the “view only” was a good start.

Image

 HIGHLIGHT

On a personal note – I hope that all of my American friends had a great independence day! My awesome supportive boyfriend, Matt, came to the city this past weekend to spend the holiday with me – we enjoyed Sangria at the Frying Pan followed by the Macy’s Fourth of July Fireworks! IMG_1179

Our time together can be summed up by broadway and sushi and there is nothing wrong with that. If you’re in Chelsea, hit up Hana Sushi (GET THE LOBSTER ROLL) and/or Monster Sushi.
Kudos to us because we waited for 3 hours in the standing-room-only line for Book of Mormon. We succeeded with $27 dollar tickets to stand near the orchestra, and then scored nearby open seats after intermission. With all of this fun we had to take advantage of the $60 mezzanine Annie tickets that came our way. And yes, Jane Lynch is a perfect Miss Hannigan.
Also got to meet the NY side of his family, I am so appreciative for all in my life!
Leave a Reply

