Be a Sponge

Image

(client) Check out the make your own MAGNUM bar in Bryant Park this summer!

So this past week in NYC has been incredible (I’m sure this will continuously be the case), but really! I am learning so much at my internship and truly getting to see all that goes in to the insane world that is public relations.

I’ve just been so motivated, inspired, challenged and more and haven’t been able to find a way to word it. However, today at an IPG intern event, a speaker really nailed it for me. They encouraged all of us interns to

“Be a sponge”.

Really, soak up everything you can.

I am certainly a sponge. Every client I hear my team talk about I just want to learn more, and seeing our campaigns launch throughout the summer is so rewarding to be a part of.

I am in the digital department, and let me tell you, spending the days on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest, Vine . . . will never be the same. Did you do as I suggested and go “Like” your favorite brands on Facebook yet? Do it, they are watching.

Golin Girls!

Golin Girls!

Part of being a sponge is cleaning up messes (haven’t had any crises yet, but I am so ready), and not being afraid of what you are put up to. This week I got my first intern errand challenge – getting supplies for a client’s video shoot. I traveled all over for a specific product, and even a mini road trip to Jersey City for a needed piece to the puzzle.

So enjoy absolutely every opportunity AND CHALLENGE – another example being me getting an awesome grade on my basic marketing class after my building’s internet went out and I trekked quite a few blocks to a Panera – you come across, be a sponge. Be a really big sponge ready to get soaked with knowledge, and maybe a little worn out πŸ™‚

HIGHLIGHT OF THE WEEKΒ 

Boating in central Park! My housing offers many adventures for us, and one of them was a free hour of boating in Central Park. This was quite the workout when I took my turn rowing the boat, but the scenery was so beautiful! Also, one of the girls who signed up is an AOII with me, I love wearing AOII shirts and finding these discoveries. Also, while rowing along, a boat of 4 girls hollered at me asking what sorority my shirt says, and it turns out they were 4 sisters, making 6 pandas out on that lake!Β IMG_0504

Always makes my day when sisterhood shines like that – making me even more satisfied with being a sponge and soaking up that opportunity!

Have a great week, sponges.

Aaaand… how can I forget that Darcie and I got fried Oreos in Times Square?

IMG_0476

One thought on “Be a Sponge

Leave a Reply

