123 first week in NYC #internlife

Well I can officially say that I have survived my first week as an intern in NYC. I really am getting the best taste of living in NY – because this intern housing is most likely the most probable  I’ll ever find for less than 2000 a month. My flight was great – shout out to JETBLUE and I had wonderful service from the cab to my home.

My view every day and night!

My view every day and night!

1. FRIENDS

You need friends in NYC. Really, you need friends everywhere. Or maybe it’s just me because I hate being anywhere by myself. I’m lucky that one of my good friends from back home is interning in the city as well, and is my suitemate! The first night here I pulled a college freshman move and excitedly went to the meet-and-greet for the housing. Found a girl that I knew way back in the day, and it was a great night of getting out with pizza and wine after that!

I love how much there is to offer here. I’ve got Paige, Andrea and Nevena who are interning over at a well-known cancer research center, and my two roomates who are at high fashion shoe companies.

Also, attending a NYC INTERN PARTY,

971395_10151387497651364_1466545500_n

as official/non-official as it was, I met some awesome friends and we have a great NYC summer crew going on!

I love both my roommates and I truly thank my extroverted personality every day of my life. So, if you’re headed to college, an internship a new city – remember there is another person just like you waiting to be friended, so say hello.

2. THE INTERNSHIP – LIKE YOUR BRANDS

Unfortunately a non-clever heading thanks to Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn. My internship is wonderful! I admire all my coworkers and I am learning so much. I’m working in the digital department of the PR/Communications firm GolinHarris. I am getting hands-on experience with social presence and all that goes in to the management of brands with facebook, twitter, instagram and beyond (THERE IS SO MUCH) so please take the time to look up all of your favorite brands on Facebook and give them a “Like” and when you’re enjoying them tell them so with a tweet, because it means more than you think!

936374_10151386076571364_244008195_n

Also have my cousin here, who works at the PR firm above me, so thankful to join the IPG fam with her, I owe a lot of this experience to her.

3. GETTING LOST, EXPLORING, GETTING LOST, EXPLORING 

10148_10151392509141364_410845620_nLiterally in that order. My roommate Darcie and I would love to think that we have the subway down like pros – and we do when we use our phone apps and once we are actually on the subway (or when I nice New Yorker let’s us know we are on the wrong train, thanks again sir).

I can say that I’ve successfully crossed these off the to-do list:
CENTRAL PARK, FAO SCHWARZ, MUSEUM OF NATIONAL HISTORY, HIGH LINE, CHELSEA MARKET, BIG APPLE BBQ, AN ISRAELI PARADE, SAW THE PURGE  . . .

photo 12

. . . and getting casted for a reality TV show (normal).

HIGHLIGHT OF THE WEEK: 

The highlight of the week absolutely has to be celebrating Amanda’s 21st birthday! It’s so crazy that I celebrated her sweet 16, 18 and now 21. We had a wonderful dinner and night out on the town! I love meeting new friends and also so excited that my PR ladies from USF, Nikki and Ashley who are interning in the city helped celebrate too. Feeling young and wild and free.

972006_10151393188161364_945160949_n1003247_10200090278314979_1903444746_n

3 thoughts on “123 first week in NYC #internlife

  1. Glad to hear you survived your first week in the Big Apple! I too am in a big city (Chicago) for an internship and completely understand that your happiness outside of the office often leads to a greater happiness within it. Hope the rest of your summer is as full of experience as the first week!

  2. Thanks Jen! I casually check out your perfect polish in my spare time:) Do my nails in the fall! And thanks to you too, Rob! Chicago is my second ideal destination, and yes it is all about 360 happiness. Hope the same for you!

Leave a Reply

